43 Jovenes!

Confession is good for the soul, so I’m going to be doing even better after this post.  Here’s my confession…I don’t always obey the first time I’m told.  I know, I know, that’s a really bad habit.  Just ask my children.  There are always consequences!

 

Five years ago I started feeling the need to start a youth class in our local church.  We had Sunday School, and there were young people that came, but we needed something more.  When I started getting the impression that the Lord wanted me to teach this class, I didn’t obey.  My first excuse was, “I don’t have time to take on anything else!”  Then when the impression got stronger, “But, Lord, you know my Spanish is still lacking…I just don’t feel comfortable teaching a group of young people.”  Still stronger…”They already have a youth leader and they have youth meeting on Sundays….”  I’m really embarrassed to admit that I argued for over 3 years!

Finally, I obeyed.

Our first youth class, we had 2 Schreckhise kids and one other young lady from the church.  Little by little others started coming. Today I had 45 in my class!  43 young people and 2 moms.  Just a little less than 2 years later.  If I started telling you all the stories of young people whose lives have been changed, of entire families who have been affected by the power of the Holy Ghost, we’d be here all night.

Is it because of me or my teaching abilities?  NO!!!  God already had a plan.

In a country where the median age is 22 (half of the population is younger than 22), there are young people who are looking for something real.  Something they can trust in a society filled with poverty, drug trafficking, and violence.  Something (I should say Someone) who can fill the emptiness in their soul.  Something more than ritual and religion.  They are looking for a relationship that lasts.

My job is to introduce them to the Lover of their soul.  To the One who knew them before they were born.  The One who has them written on the very palms of His hands.  What a privilege it is to witness the moment when they realize that  God is real and that He is waiting for them with open arms.  That He loves them with an everlasting love.  That He wants to give them a hope and a future.

I’m so thankful that during the 3 years that I argued and disobeyed God didn’t decide to use someone else. That in spite of my stubbornness, He was patient.  That He allowed me to be a part of reaching this amazing group of kids.

Now, bringing it home. If you’re feeling that there is something that God is calling you to do, don’t follow my example and argue.  Most of the time what God calls us to do will not be easy.  There will be lots of logical excuses. It probably won’t be in our comfort zone.  And it may not even feel safe….just remember, there is no better place to be than right in the center of His will!

JS

 

2 thoughts on “43 Jovenes!

  1. Praise God, Sis. Schreckhise!! That’s an awesome report…I’m glad you obeyed. 🙂
    I can also be stubborn or even question if God is really wanting me to do something, but I want to do better about being sensitive to His voice and just saying YES! Thanks for this post.

    Like

  2. Somehow I missed this post!!!! This one time, God gave me this really unique story idea, a devotional, and I kept thinking I needed to write it, but as time went by I kept writing about other stuff but the idea was SOOOOO UNIQUE I thought no one else would EVERRR right about it. Then BAM, someone else did and I realized that God must have given it to someone else to write because I didn’t do it!l That was truly a hard thing to swallow but a very good lesson for me!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

